NOTE: Please note that it will likely be at *least* a 3-4 week minimum before you hear back from us after submitting an adoption application.  We typically accept for new applications for a period of 7 days or until 20 applications have been received for any newly available dog.  After that time period, the applications are sent on to the foster family for review and that usually takes from at *least* a few days to a week to sort through the applications, etc.  :-)  Most of our dogs receive several applications so this process does take some time, especially on dogs who are more popular for one reason or another.  We do require phone interviews to be conducted between the foster family and potential adopters, vet reference checks and a home visit to be conducted for all potential adopters, if they are selected as the top choice applicant, which will also take time to complete.   That being said, we do always let our applicants know if they are chosen or not. :-) 

IF you happen to not be chosen, please don't feel discouraged as, again, we usually get several applications for each dog, and sometimes it can be very difficult to choose just one adopter.  In those cases, we usually offer to keep the applications for adoption on file for any future dogs that come into our rescue. :-)


ALL adopters are required to come and pick up their adopted dogs in person from the dog's foster home (we do not ship any of our dogs). Please have road/driving transport plans in place to pick up an adopted dog before you apply!  While we are not against adopters flying a foster dog in cabin on a commercial flight, please keep in mind that many are not good candidates for flying due to size and/or being a brachycephalic/short nosed breed. 


If an adopter can not keep one of our grads, for any reason at all, at ANY point in time, they *must* be willing and able to return their adopted dog to his/her original foster home, despite distance and any costs that would be required to do so.

Shelly

French Bulldog


Foster Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Age: 11 years (DOB: 09-29-08)
Sex: Female
Weight: 28lbs
Kids: Yes!
Cats: Yes!
Dogs: Probably not, see bio

Adoption Fee: $350
Fenced Yard : Preferred but not required




Shelly was surrendered to SNAFU Rescue from a shelter when her previous owner was admitted into a nursing home and was no longer able to care for her.  

Shelly, also known as Tilly in her foster home, is an older girl but is still young at heart.  Shelly’s favorite past times are taking short walks on a leash, being outside in the fresh air, sunbathing, doing yoga stretches, chewing on some good chew toys/bones, and napping!  This playful girl politely demands as much of her foster families attention that she can get and is quite an inquisitive little girl. She loves to investigate out in the yard and excitedly greets anyone walking by.  Shelly uses her charm to make sure she is receiving all the scratchies and attention from the people she meets. When she isn’t flirting for attention, Shelly loves to sleep in one of her comfy beds or snuggle with her foster family.  During her time with her foster family, Shelly has spent time with the neighborhood children.  She is very gentle and graciously accepts any and all attention from them so we think that easy going, dog savvy kids would likely be okay for her.   She has also lived with a senior cat.  The cat is an alpha and pretty dog savvy and Shelly isn’t phased at all!  Shelly does tend to want all of the attention to herself and does resource guard her humans and toys with other dogs.  Due to this, we feel she would probably do best in a home with no other dogs, or *maybe* a home with one other very easy going submissive dog that wouldn't mind her being pushy and bossy.  As with all of our dogs, we recommend slow introductions when introducing a new pet into the household and that she always be monitored when she is other pets AND children to make sure both she and they are kept safe. 

Shelly is urine incontinent.  She had a fungal infection and very resistant infection around her vulva and in her urinary tract when coming to the rescue. After months of cultures, different antibiotics and diluted bleach baths (per instruction from our veterinarian), her infections have finally be cleared.  She will need to be monitored for any signs of a UTI in the future and cultures MUST be done if one is suspected.  She currently sleeps in an xpen when her foster family is away from the home and at night and does very well with that routine.  She does dribble urine and has washable bed pads underneath her xpen to help protect the floors and for easier clean up. These pads have to be changed out and washed (with bleach) at *least* once a day, but twice a day is preferable, if it is possible. She can wear diapers when out and about in the home (if reusable they should be washed with bleach). Her lady parts will need to be kept very clean and disinfected if wearing diapers.  She should not wear diapers at night or when in her xpen to allow her lady parts air out and stay dry.  She does not seem to have issues with pooping inside of the home and has been pretty reliable about pooping outside as long as she is kept on a regular schedule/routine.  She seems to do best for potty breaks if her people walk out with her in the yard to make sure she is going. 


Medically, Shelly is in good health for a gal of her age.  She does has arthritis in her knees but she seems to do fine with that and it doesn't seem to slow her down.  She would benefit from being on a joint supplement for the remainder of her lifetime to help aid with any future arthritis progression.  Her new family will absolutely have to maintain her weight so her arthritis doesn’t cause her further issues. It is imperative for her quality of life that she does not become overweight.  She is up-to-date on her vaccinations, heartworm tested,  microchipped, has had a dental and has been given the okay for adoption from our veterinarian!

Shelly is looking for a loving family to spend the rest of her days and would very much enjoy a family that has a slower lifestyle and spends a lot of time at home.  She absolutely loves her people and would love to spend all her time with them!  Shelly would do best in a home with a fenced yard, without shared walls.  While she is a pretty quiet dog, she does tend to bark for a few minutes after her foster family leaves the home from time to time.  A house with a fenced yard is not required for adoption, but is preferred so she can continue to explore the outside when the weather is nice!  Given her arthritis, Shelly would do best in a home with no stairs.  She can manage two or three stairs (and she does in her current foster home) but she would prefer not to.  She is happy to be assisted and/or carried if her people would want to carry her up and any down any stairs in their home but she would likely not be a good candidate for going up and down a flight of stairs on a daily basis. Shelly would absolutely love a family that is retired or works from home! She probably would not be the best candidate for taking to work as she is not good with stranger dogs and due to her urinary incontinence.  If her people worked away from the home, no problem, she's completely happy sleeping the day away at home in her xpen as long as she has a nylabone or two to chew on and her people can arrange for a mid-day potty break for her! 

If you feel your family might be the perfect forever home for Shelly, please submit an application today!!